Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

| TeenLit.com | Teens | Teachers | Book ShopAbout TeenLit

Pulitzer for Fiction

bullet 1999 The Hours by Michael Cunningham
bullet 1998 American Pastoral, by Philip Roth
bullet 1997 Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer, by Stephen Millhauser
bullet 1996 Independence Day, by Richard Ford
bullet 1995 The Stone Diaries, by Carol Shields
bullet 1994 The Shipping News, by E. Annie Proulx
bullet 1993 A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, by Robert Olen Butler
bullet 1992 A Thousand Acres, by Jane Smiley
bullet 1991 Rabbit at Rest, by John Updike
bullet 1990 The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, by Oscar Hijuelos
bullet 1989 Breathing Lessons, by Anne Tyler
bullet 1988 Beloved, by Toni Morrison
bullet 1987 A Summons to Memphis, by Peter Taylor
bullet 1986 Lonesome Dove, by Larry McMurtry
bullet 1985 Foreign Affairs, by Alison Lurie
bullet 1984 Ironweed, by William Kennedy
bullet 1983 The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
bullet 1982 Rabbit is Rich, by John Updike
bullet 1981 A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy O’Toole
bullet 1980 The Executioner’s Song, by Norman Mailer
bullet 1979 The Stories of John Cheever, by John Cheever
bullet 1978 Elbow Room, by James Alan McPherson
bullet 1977 No Award
bullet 1976 Humboldt’s Gift, by Saul Bellow
bullet 1975 The Killer Angels, by Michael Shaara
bullet 1974 No Award
bullet 1973 The Optimist’s Daughter, by Eudora Welty
bullet 1972 Angle of Repose, by Wallace Stegner
bullet 1971 No Award
bullet 1970 Collected Stories, by Jean Stafford
bullet 1969 House Made of Dawn, by N. Scott Momaday
bullet 1968 The Confessions of Nat Turner, by William Styron
bullet 1967 The Fixer, by Bernard Malamud
bullet 1966 The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter, by Katherine Anne Porter
bullet 1965 The Keepers of the House, by Shirley Ann Grau
bullet 1964 No Award
bullet 1963 The Reivers, by William Faulkner
bullet 1962 The Edge of Sadness, by Edwin O’Connor
bullet 1961 To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
bullet 1960 Advise and Consent, by Allen Drury
bullet 1659 The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters, by Robert Lewis Taylor
bullet 1958 A Death in the Family, by James Agee
bullet 1957 No Award
bullet 1956 Andersonville, by MacKinlay Kantor
bullet 1955 A Fable, by William Faulkner
bullet 1954 No Award
bullet 1953 The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway
bullet 1952 The Caine Mutiny, by Herman Wouk
bullet 1951 The Town, by Conrad Richter
bullet 1950 The Way West, by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
bullet 1949 Guard of Hnor, by James Gould Cozzens
bullet 1948 Tales of the South Pacific, by James A. Michener
bullet 1947 All the King’s Men, by Robert Penn Warren
bullet 1946 No Award
bullet 1945 A Bell for Adano, by John Hersey
bullet 1944 Journey in the Dark, by Martin Flavin
bullet 1943 Dragon’s Teeth, by Upton Sinclair
bullet 1942 In This Our Life, by Ellen Glasgow
bullet 1941 No Award
bullet 1940 The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck
bullet 1939 The Yearling, by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
bullet 1938 The Late George Apley, by John Phillips Marquand
bullet 1937 Gone With the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell
bullet 1936 Honey in the Horn, by Harold L. Davis
bullet 1935 Now in November, by Josephine Winslow Johnson
bullet 1934 Lamb in His Bosom, by Caroline Miller
bullet 1933 The Store, by T. S. Stribling
bullet 1932 The Good Earth, by Pearl S. Buck
bullet 1931 Years of Grace, by Margaret Ayer Barnes
bullet 1930 Laughing Boy, by Oliver La Farge
bullet 1929 Scarlet Sister Mary, by Julia Peterkin
bullet 1928 The Bridge of San Luis Rey, by Thornton Wilder
bullet 1927 Early Autumn, by Louis Bromfield
bullet 1926 Arrowsmith, by Sinclair Lewis
bullet 1925 So Big, by Edna Ferber
bullet 1924 The Able McLaughlins, by Margaret Wilson
bullet 1923 One of Ours, by Willa Cather
bullet 1922 Alice Adams, by Booth Tarkington
bullet 1921 The Age of Innocence, by Edith Wharton
bullet 1920 No Award
bullet 1919 The Magnificent Ambersons, by Booth Tarkington
bullet 1918 His Family, by Ernest Poole
Mail Inquiries to

Last Updated

This site is supported by a generous
 grant from the McCarthey Dressman Foundation 

A WizardZone publication including their affiliates...